Where did 2015 go?

2014 was an eventful year for me as I spent a large chunk of it overseas on exchange but my memories from the last year are hazy at best. My internship at Discovery took up the first half of the year, and then the second half was basically embarking on my FYP at uni. But if you want me to pick out individual significant moments from 2015, I honestly won’t be able to.

But one thing I have to say that I’m grateful for in 2015 was making a solid group of friends that I enjoy spending time together with. There may be times here and there where my patience is tested (as with any relationship), but other times, the good times, occasions spent stifling laughter in public places and being privy to a plethora of inside jokes, well, they’re some of the most enjoyable times I’ve had.

All my life, I’ve been the type to treasure one-on-one conversations, so being part of a bigger group (consisting of 8 people, including me) is something relatively new to me. At times, it almost feels like I’m an outsider looking in, because conversations move at the speed of light, and sometimes about the most inane things that I feel no connection with whatsoever.

But there’s always something to learn from every situation, and being part of such a friendship also teaches me to be more understanding, in a way. I guess what I mean is that being exposed to more people allows me to see things from new perspectives that don’t necessarily correlate with my own. Which is always important. And I don’t mean to wax poetic or anything, but I do feel that I end up learning more about myself in the process too—more about what I’m like, what I like, my boundaries, my skills, etc. and consequently, this awareness makes me appreciate myself more. You’re pretty damn great, Justine. Never forget.

Leave a Reply

