Acting 101 with your coach, Justine

When it comes to movies or TV shows, there’s always gonna be a deal-breaker. What I mean is if a show were to have it, whatever it may be, then it’s a no-go for you. It could be a number of things – bad writing, crude jokes, silly plot, lame body gags, terribly haphazard editing, and the list goes on… For me, the number one thing I absolutely cannot stand is bad acting. No matter how incredible a plot can be, stilted acting always, always ends up taking me out of the story entirely. I mean, if you sound like you’re reciting the lines from your script, how am I supposed to believe that you’re actually the character you’re supposed to be playing? One thing I like to do when I watch anything is I try to look out for the actors who don’t have dialogue, and see how they react to the situation. I think one of the true marks of being a good actor is when you’re in character even when you’re not the star of the scene.

47287_ppl
New Jesus vs. Old Jesus

For the past week, I’ve been watching The Fosters non-stop, and now that I’m in Season 3 (that brings my total episode count to a whopping FIFTY-FIVE), I’m pleased to announce that new Jesus is faring a loooot better than old Jesus. I thought it weird that they switched out Jake T. Austin for Noah Centineo midway through Season 3 at first – I mean, are we supposed to ignore the fact that Jesus grew like a whole foot and suddenly turned hot…?! But luckily, Jake was always the weak link for me amidst a cast of talented young actors. Turns out, being able to blend in in a Disney channel series (ahem, Wizards of Waverly Place) doesn’t necessarily equate to actually having acting skills. Good to know.

While Noah is decent, and also really, really cute to boot, what I guess I’m trying to say (albeit in a very long-winded, roundabout way) is that bad acting sticks out like a sore thumb to me. But that isn’t to say that I won’t give credit where credit is due.

There are good actors, and then there are good actors. Out of the young cast in The Fosters, I’m always, constantly blown away by David Lambert. I first saw him in The Lifeguard, with Kristen Bell, and was so distracted by how incredibly beautiful the guy is, that I didn’t really get a handle on his acting. But it did make me start watching The Fosters, and that’s when I really sat up and took notice of how good of an actor he is. I won’t be able to tell you exactly what it is that makes him better than others, but it’s the kind of acting where it actually makes me stop and think, “WOW, he’s so good.”

foster
David Lambert in The Lifeguard (THOSE LASHES THO)

It’s really all about the eyes. If you can bring across your emotions and make me feel things with just your eyes alone, without having to utter a single word, then I applaud you. Good job. You’re amazing for succeeding where so many others have failed.

Okay yeah obviously, the world is filled with great actors—just look at some of the best Hollywood A-listers. Matt Damon was amazing in The Martian and I also remember thinking Tom Hanks was so moving in Captain Phillips. But the few other instances (that I can remember) where I’ve actually consciously thought that an actor was really good at acting would be Dylan O’Brien in Teen Wolf, and again in Maze Runner, Ji Chang Wook in Healer, Im Siwan in Misaeng, Kim Soo Hyun in Producers and most recently, Jung Kyung Ho in One More Happy Ending… All actors who’ve successfully mastered the art of eye emoting. Which is a lot less common than you’d think, considering it is an actor’s, you know, job to emote. Huh.

Leave a Reply

