A charmed evening

Well, it’s almost three so it’s technically already boxing day, but nevertheless, Merry Christmas to all!! My family and I celebrated Christmas time last year in Chiang Mai and it’s actually been awhile since we spent it in Singapore. This year’s celebration was more subdued compared with previous years for some reason, but I’m not complaining. I spent Christmas eve having dinner with the fam and Christmas day at my grandmother’s, followed by a lovely homecooked meal of lamb shank and mash potatoes (see picture) at home. Simple, but enough.

 photo 3_zpsfb8a7026.jpg

A few days back, I made the impulsive decision to buy a bunch of charms from Sophie and Toffee and they arrived just in time for Christmas, which was a lovely surprise! I really expected them to arrive much later, what with the busy holiday period and all, but my package only took like 2-3 days to get here since the day I placed my order. So, highly recommend! I bought about $15 worth of assorted charms, including various Mickey donut ones, a heart cupcake, My Little Pony, among others.

 photo 1_zps0b9ddbe3.jpg

My favourites are the Mickey and Minnie ones that came in a set, they’re so big and glossy! For now, I don’t really know what I’ll do with these charms since almost all of them don’t come with any screw eyepins to put a chain through or anything. Still, looking at them fills me up with such joy!!! I always were a sucker for cute things….

 photo 2_zps5b65fd13.jpg

And so, Christmas passed like any other day for me… I spent it eating, talking and in between it all, even found time to catch up on dramas. Look at me effectively multi-tasking! I watched all 6 released episodes of Healer (Verdict: So good! So exciting! Also, Ji Chang Wook!) and once that was done, I finally finished Misaeng (YES? YES!). First of all, Siwan is an absolute revelation. I’ve never seen him in anything except the two eps of Expect to Date alongside BoA, so I’m really seeing him in this new light. Of course, it has to be said that the acting is spot-on from all sides (soooo well-casted) but Siwan is especially perfect with his delicate features and a stature that makes him almost…frail-looking, completely embodying Jang Geu Rae from head to toe in both body and spirit. Slow claps.

Whenever I watch a movie or a drama, I’m the type to get so emotionally invested that these characters’ lives’ start to feel like my own… Whenever they get beaten down by life, it’s as though it’s happening to me, so I always leave each episode of Misaeng feeling so, so drained, but with that little twinge of hopefulness that the drama somehow always manages to lace in. This drama is so ordinary, but yet… so extraordinary. There are really no words to describe how incredible and special Misaeng is to me (and I’m sure, many others too), and even though I don’t think I could stand a rewatch, I will never forget all the feelings it made me feel. Easily one of my Top 3 dramas.

I hope everyone’s had a lovely Christmas! And even if like mine, it passed like any other day, if you consider it a day well-spent doing things that make you happy, then that’s all that matters! Christmas doesn’t have to be large, noisy gatherings filled with an obscene amount of food; if you spent it by yourself or with a few of your loved ones, hey, that’s okay too. It’s all about how you look at it (I mean, look at me getting all giddy over a couple of charms that have exactly zero use). Happy Christmas.

Leave a Reply

