DIY Deity, a.k.a ME

I haven’t been blogging for the past 8 months, and I’d apologise, but I don’t really see any reason to. I’ve always written for myself, and whenever the mood strikes, and with exchange leaving me far too busy enjoying life (a rarity), blogging was the furthest thing from my mind, naturally. I think I might do a couple of throwback posts just to have a dumping ground for the hundreds of pictures I’ve taken overseas, but till then, I probably won’t be blogging as regularly as I used to do.

Since my return in late July, I’ve mostly been busy with school and assignments as well as settling internship matters. And now that it’s the holidays, I’ve taken up DIY projects, busying myself making cards and care packages for the people I care about. I recently got inspiration from a craft website that Rachel introduced to me called Oh Happy Day, and it’s absolutely brimming with ideas, I love it! It’s got great suggestions for designing your own envelopes, gift cards and other party ideas that are perfect, especially for this gift-giving season. I ended up creating watermelon care packages filled with sweet goodies for friends I’ll meet this December, and painting watermelon cards for those overseas. I think I’ve made about 30 of these in total and if I never pick up another paintbrush, that would be too soon.

2

3

4

On a somewhat related note, I don’t know if it’s because I’ve suddenly realised just how fulfilling it can be to make your own creations, but I made dinner today! When it comes to cooking… I almost never do it, and when I do randomly get bitten by the cooking bug, it’s usually at 2 or 3 in the morning when everyone’s asleep. What I normally do is google “easy recipes + whatever ingredients I have in my fridge” and then see what pops up, and then I’ll just adapt the recipe according to what I’ve got. Today, I was on my own for dinner and I really wanted to do something with the kimchi my mum had bought and so… I decided to make kimchi pasta! After a quick google, this was the closest thing to what I wanted to do.

11

It was super easy to make, and turned out so much better than I thought it would! I actually didn’t follow the recipe all that closely. I boiled my spaghetti separately and while that cooked, in another pan, I added some butter, kimchi and milk and let it cook on low. I wish I could give you the exact measurements, but I was cooking for 1 portion and went purely by instinct. I added just a little pinch of chicken stock and pepper, adding more milk, butter and kimchi along the way as I saw fit. I added some pepper too when I needed to offset a bit of the saltiness. And when my spaghetti was about done, I sprinkled some pizza cheese in to thicken the sauce and then finally, mixed in my spaghetti. I topped it with two slices of smoked duck just because I had it in the fridge, but sausages or bacon would probably do the job too (though that would definitely be better cooked together with the sauce)! I undercooked my spaghetti because my sauce was already starting to boil so I’ll definitely do this again perfectly – this time, probably a bigger portion to share with the family!

Ingredients:

  • Kimchi
  • Milk
  • Butter
  • Chicken stock
  • Spaghetti
  • Dash of pepper
  • Pizza topping cheese
  • Smoked duck

I hope this inspires somebody to get a little crafty this holiday season. Also, hope everyone’s having an enjoyable time this December so far! I can’t believe we’re only 11 days away from 2015. I’ll be celebrating my birthday as well as ringing in the new year overseas because I’ll be on a cruise with my family, yay!

Leave a Reply

