This is a hair post

The first episode of Flower Boy Next Door premiered last night and is being subbed as I type, and I finally caught the much-talked about Les Miserables this afternoon, so today was a pretty good day, I’d say. But back to the reason for this post: I’ve mentioned how I’ve been keen on doing something different to my hair and while I haven’t yet plucked the courage to chop off my fringe, I did recently dye my entire head, DIY-style. I’m no stranger to dyeing my hair myself since I’ve been going at my bleached ends for I think two years now? I usually dye it in Manic Panic’s Hot Hot Pink (which is a very lovely dark but vibrant pink) and kinda ends up looking like this:

Manic Panic is really easy to use since it’s only semi-permanent so you don’t need to mix the colourant with the developer and all that fussy stuff. You just wash your hair, towel dry, spread on the dye, wait for a bit and rinse. (I usually leave it on for about 3 hours.) And the colour usually stays for about two weeks before it slowly fades to a light pink, and then to a muddy pink-brown. If you don’t want anything too permanent, I’d definitely recommend Manic Panic. I usually get mine here.

But while I was at a drugstore, I saw the new range of L’Oreal Paris Excellence Fashion hair colour and I was so tempted by the one that came in P66 Intense Spicy Red so I bought a box and thought I’d read up on the range before trying it out. And honestly, I’m kind of sick of my bleached ends and having to dye it all the time to cover up how ugly it looks.

But because it’s so new though, I can’t seem to find anything about it online and Google keeps on leading me back to the Excellence Creme line which isn’t what I’m looking for. So this post is mostly to help those who are thinking of trying out this new range, as well as those who are curious about how it’ll turn out when you use red hair dye on dark Asian hair without bleaching.

The last time I dyed my hair using dye out of a box was about six or so years ago, so it definitely feels like I’m doing it for the first time again. The back of the box promised to turn my dark brown/black hair to something resembling what was advertised on the cover of the box. I wasn’t so sure, but here goes…

I’m pretty sure the contents are the same as any other box dye but anyway it comes with (1) a protective pre-colour serum (2) a protective creme colourant (3) a creme developer with applicator (4) a protective conditioner and (5) a pair of gloves.

Before dyeing – taken with flash

I don’t have a proper before photo (above) where you can see my gross faded brown-pink bleached ends but besides that, I’ve always got really dark almost-black hair so I wasn’t expecting to come away with bright red hair or anything like that. And since I’m not pre-bleaching, even if my hair ended up simply being a little brown, I was okay with that.

So as the intructions say to work on dry, unwashed hair, that’s what I did and I started working the pre-serum through my hair. My hair’s about waist-length and I ended up using about 3/4 of the bottle. After mixing the colourant and the developer together, I switched to the comb applicator and started the application at my roots.

Okay, I honestly didn’t expect it to be so tedious and time-consuming, and crap, I forgot that I’d probably need another box for proper full coverage, and omg am I gonna end up with patchy black and red hair?! I did as best as I could and worked with what I had, and I also forgot how pungent the ammonia smell could be – definitely do not miss that.

After applying the entire colour mixture onto my hair, I started massaging it through and I’m not even sure if I’m supposed to get any of it on my scalp but I did, and I’m alive now so I guess don’t worry too much about that? The instructions say to leave it on for 30 minutes if applying all over your head, and for 5-10 minutes longer if your hair is coarser. I left mine for about an hour before washing out and maybe it’s because it was at night, but I was pretty disappointed with the results at first because I swear my hair looked exactly the same, except for the fact that my bleached ends were now a darker colour.

Right after washing – taken with flash

I was really worried though while I was dyeing my hair and kept thinking, “omg what did I get myself into this is a huge mistake omg omg” especially since I was so sure with only one box I couldn’t really fully saturate my entire head of hair. And my bleached ends kept getting tangled while I was dyeing and I swear I lost so much hair that day, I’m not even kidding.

My hair’s gone through about two washes now and I do really like the colour even though it’s nothing like I expected. The pictures are taken during the daytime, but the pictures don’t really do the colour justice (ok I KNOW it still kinda looks the same lol) because I think it’s a little prettier in real life, if I do say so myself. But wow, I really need to master the whole taking a selca with a DSLR thing…

With flash

Without flash

sitting like a lady~

It’s mostly a really dark, chocolatey brown that shines a little reddish in the sun. My roots are especially bright, and my bleached ends are more of a burgundy colour, which doesn’t really show up true to pictures. But I like that my ends finally blend in with the rest of my hair a lot more, compared to previously, so it’s not as obvious that they’re as dry as the Sahara desert (though ok I know the pic above says otherwise u___u). I also kinda like being a brunette…ish. I think the colour would be a little more intense if I had perhaps another box, but all in all, I’m quite satisfied with how it turned out – nothing too drastic that I’d regret immediately.

If you’re interested, I got my box of hair dye at one of those beauty shops along Toa Payoh (it’s one of the first few) but if I’m not wrong, it’s also currently available at Watsons outlets for $15.90.

One thought on “This is a hair post

Leave a Reply

