Holiday update

For those who don’t know, I’ve been in Chiang Mai for the past week, and it really is quite lovely here. The only part of Thailand I’ve been to is Phuket, so I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. It’s not exactly a shopping paradise (though their Sunday night bazzars at Tapae Gate is huuuge) but I like the atmosphere here and the people are nice despite the language barrier.

Today’s my last day here and while I’ve had a nice time, I do miss home quite a bit (oh what I’d do for stable Internet connection~~). The reason why we came was mainly because my dad wanted to take part in the Chiang Mai marathon and wanted to drag us along by disguising it as a “family holiday trip”. The run was on Sunday morning, and despite my initial overwhelming dread, it turned out surprisingly okay. Let’s hope my one day workout is enough to make up for all the pigging out I’ve been doing. Thai food is both cheap and amazing. I think my brother’s had at least six different variations of Pad Thai from six different locations. Hmm…

***

While I’ve been away, it seems that U-KISS, the idol group that first got me into K-pop, will finally be popping over to our shores in Feb 2013 since their last visit in Nov 2010. …Yes, I’m actually excited enough to dedicate a post to this.

I’ve seen the boys twice now – once in KL last year ((long story short: I cut work and endured a 6-hour coach ride to see them)), and another time earlier this year at the Simply KPOP taping in Seoul. Which was an amazing experience because the members were just all kinds of cute, and really friendly and down-to-earth, and it just made me really glad to be a fan.

But what I don’t like is that because they’ve have been around for so long, they have such a huge body of work that when it comes to performances, they only get to do their title tracks, which is merely a sliver of their entire discography. Which is disappointing for me because they have so many better songs that aren’t part of their promotional cycles. So I’m especially excited to hear that this time, they could be here for a concert, instead of a fanmeet so we’d hopefully get to really see what U-KISS is capable of.

As of now, it seems that the concert will be (1) in February (2) after CNY and (3) during a weekend, so that narrows down the dates to either 16-17 or 23-24. For updates about the concert as well as details that are soon to be released, do keep checking back with @Judyvein from Jig Asia.

***

And finally, though I’m a little behind and it’s already Boxing Day back in Singapore… a huge Merry Christmas to everyone!

Here are some videos to be merry about:

Flower Boy Next Door just released another video teaser, which shows clips from Episode 1, and everything is so cute and fluffy and there’s eye candy everywhere and god, I hope it’ll turn out as good as it looks! The drama will begin airing on January 7 so mark your calendars!!

Also, BtoB, a rookie group that I couldn’t really bring myself to care about when they first debuted in March, have definitely shone a little brighter in my eyes since. I really like their personalities, and I especially love their energy and fanservice on stage.

They’ve had some experience with reality shows, and I’ve watched some clips here and there and the boys are adddoorrraableee~ I’m convinced this is a group you’ll never be able to have a permanent bias because they all have their individual charms. My favourites as of now are Hyunsik, Sungjae and Peniel. But ya know, that’ll probably change as well…

They’re currently filming for SBS MTV’s B+ Diary and here’s one of the clips from Episode 2, where the members are sort of in an… unusual dating show scenario. This made my cheeks hurt from watching because I was grinning so much.

And finally, some holiday greetings from my OT6, and the group who will always be 2012’s Rookie of the Year to me no matter what happens:

+ a bonus Christmas selca from Daehyun

tumblr_inline_mfjeeqR2WD1r2zn28

With love from Chiang Mai,

xx

Leave a Reply

