Flower Boy Next Door? Yes, please.

Another quick post before I’m off to sleep since it’s exactly 5:55am. I bring forth good news in Dramaland! We all know tvN’s set to do another Flower Boy installment, after the success of Flower Boy Ramen Shop and my all-time favourite drama Shut Up Flower Boy Band, but casting news have recently been confirmed and two pretty well-known actors with a decent body of work will be starring in Flower Boy Next Door – which I hope is as cute as it sounds. And the actors are none other than Yoon Si Yoon (Me Too Flower, Baking King Kim Tak Goo) and Park Shin Hye (You’re Beautiful).

These two are adorable and seem to match both age-wise and looks-wise (since they have such youthful baby faces), so I hope the chemistry is as cute. Shin Hye is usually hit or miss for me – I thought she was cluelessly cute in You’re Beautiful, but that almost-exaggerated cuteness she usually brings to her roles didn’t quite work for Heartstrings, a drama that was a little more grounded.

I’ve watched the previous Flower Boy installments, and much prefer SUFBB just because it had everything I love in a drama – good music, romance, tear-inducing bromance, realistic situations and gah, I can go on and on (add this to your to-watch now if you haven’t!!!). FBRS was cute too, but it was that sort of breezy, fun watch that isn’t particularly memorable. Maybe it’s because I didn’t really love either of the two leads, though that one kiss was… sizzling (it’s worth looking up, go go).

I’m not sure what the characters for the upcoming Flower Boy Next Door will be like (though from the title, I assume they’re neighbours) but I’ll definitely be tuning in to catch the cute, and weigh in on how it differs from the previous two installments. It seems promising since the PD is the same guy behind FBRS so hopefully we’re guaranteed at least that amount of fun.

The drama will air on tvN starting 7 January 2013. Can’t wait!

(Source: Koalasplayground)

Leave a Reply

